Get Started

How do I let a guest in?

Creating guests

 On iPhone

  1. Select 'Let Someone In' on the unlock screen
  2. Select which type of access to provide:

ezgif.com-video-to-gif__1_.gif

  • Giving the Latch App (The Latch App is not supported on all smartphones. For peace of mind, check that your guest has a supported device)
    • Select the doors you want to provide access to.
    • Click ‘Next’.
    • Choose a starting time. You can select starting times up to 1 year in the future.
    • If you’d like to set a time to end access toggle the ‘Set end time’ button by clicking it.
    • Select an end time.
    • If you do not select an end time your guest will have permanent access until you revoke it.
    • Select ‘Next’
    • Enter your guests’ information- you can only send the Latch App via email.
    • Select ‘Next’
    • Review all the information to ensure it is correct.
    • Select Confirm and send.
    • If successful, you will receive a ‘Success’ message.

      Your guest will receive an email from no-reply@latch.com with their login details information.  Guests should set their password for their Latch account and then download the Latch App and sign in.  Once signed in, your guest will be able to use the Latch app the same way you do.

      Click here if your guest is not receiving the Latch App invitation email.
  • 15 Minutes and Single Day doorcodes: Access lasts a full calendar day from midnight to midnight (15 minute doorcodes expire 15 minutes after use). Can always be given remotely.
  • Permanent (only available for iOS Latch App versions below 1.15.1): Guest's doorcode lasts till you revoke it. You must be at your device to create a permanent code
    • If you created a permanent guest, you will need to update the device by tapping the blue 'Update Guests' button below each door you granted guest access to, while near it 

 

On Android

  1. Select 'Let Someone In' on the unlock screen
  2. Choose whether you want to give your visitor a single day doorcode, or the Latch App. The Latch App offers flexible access with custom start and end times:

ezgif.com-video-to-gif.gif

  • Giving the Latch App (The Latch App is not supported on all smartphones. For peace of mind, check that your guest has a supported device)
    • Select the doors you want to provide access to.
    • Click ‘Next’.
    • Choose a starting time. You can select starting times up to 1 year in the future.
    • If you’d like to set a time to end access toggle the ‘Set end time’ button by clicking it.
    • Select an end time.
    • If you do not select an end time your guest will have permanent access until you revoke it.
    • Select ‘Next’
    • Enter your guests’ information- you can only send the Latch App via email.
    • Select ‘Next’
    • Review all the information to ensure it is correct.
    • Select Confirm and send.
    • If successful, you will receive a ‘Success’ message.

      Your guest will receive an email from no-reply@latch.com with their login details information.  Guests should set their password for their Latch account and then download the Latch App and sign in.  Once signed in, your guest will be able to use the Latch app the same way you do.

      Click here if your guest is not receiving the Latch App invitation email.
  • Giving a Doorcode
    • Select whether to give access for today or tomorrow
    • Select which doors they should have access to by tapping the relevant circles
    • You can optionally toggle 'Self-destructs 15 minutes after use' if you would like the code to stop working, 15 minutes after your guest first uses it
    • Enter the name of your guest
    • On the finish screen you can see your guest's doorcode and an option to share it via any of your apps by tapping 'Send'

3. Tap the back arrow to return to the unlock screen

4. You can view your guests and their doorcodes by navigating to the left menu and tapping 'Manage Guests'

 

Deleting Guests

On iPhone

Important: Daily or 15 minute guest doorcodes cannot be deleted. They will expire at the end of the day.

Privacy: Extending the deadbolt on Latch M disables daily or 15 minute guest doorcodes from being used until it is retracted.

If you are managing a building, see how to remove permanent guests in Latch Manager

To delete a permanent guest:

  1. Select 'Manage Guests' in the left menu
  2. Select the door
  3. Select the guest you want to delete
  4. Revoke access 
  5. Update the device by tapping the blue 'Update Guests' button below each door you granted guest access to, while near it.

 

Let_a_guest_in_2_2x.jpg

 

On Android

  • If you gave your guest the Latch App:
    • Navigate to 'Manage Guests'
    • Select the guest you would like to revoke access from
    • Tap 'revoke'
    • Update the doors that the guest has access to
  • If you gave your guest a Doorcode
    • Doorcodes can not be revoked once generated. You can however enable privacy mode on your lock which causes the lock to reject all single day or 15 minute doorcodes while engaged.

 

Privacy: Extending the deadbolt on Latch M disables daily or 15 minute guest doorcodes from being used until it is retracted.